Chestnut Grove Baptist Church

Chestnut Grove Church was constituted in the month of September, 1867, by Elders J. P. Ellis, D. E. Yeiser, A. G. Davis, and B. Y. Cundiff. The constitution came about as the result of the labors of the above mentioned brethren. The charter membership numbered thirty-five, all of whom had been dismissed from the Yelvington Church for that purpose. The Church was and is located in the extreme northwestern section of Daviess County about one mile from Blackford creek.

The Church became a member of the Daviess County Association immediately after her organization and remained a member until the year 1878 when she was dismissed to go into the Blackford Association, in Hancock County, Ky., to which she still belongs. While a member of this Association the Church entertained the Annual Session of 1874. This Church and the Dawson Memorial Church are the only Missionary Baptist Churches in Daviess County not affiliated with this Association.

During her period of membership with the Association the Church reported the following pastors and clerks:


Pastor Years
A. G. Davis 1867-1870
H. T. Lampton 1870-1874
A. G. Davis 1875
B. E. Cosby 1876
W. H. Dawson 1877-1878


Clerk Years
C. E. Mayfield 1868
W. E. Hord 1869
F. M. King 1870-1871
W. E. Hord 1872-1873
F. M. King 1874
S. T. Banks 1875
F. M. King 1876-1878
W. E. Hord 1878

Source: A History of the Daviess-McLean Baptist Association in Kentucky, 1844-1943. Wendell H. Rone, Messenger Job Printing Co., Inc., Owensboro, Kentucky, 1944.